.

2012 Whitfield Soccer Preview

The Warriors, a local power in recent years, are looking to return to form this fall.

Head Soccer Coach Bill Daues provided Patch with a few quick keys as the soccer season for the Creve Coeur school gets underway next week. The squad finished 5-20 in 2011 but still reached the district title game.

1. Key Returnees:  Juniors - Billy Gardner (midfield), Collen Frost (forward), Nicolas Cuevas (midfield), Rodney Hahn (defender) Sophmore - T.J. Chulick (defender)

2. What have you learned so far about your team in the offseason and in the time back in fall practice? The team has a very positvie work ethic and a willingness to improve and play attractive soccer each day in training which hopefully will translate in the match.

3. We'll advance in the postseason if:  Holding possession was an issue for us last season, if we can collectively hold possession better we will have a good chance of advacing in the post season.

4. Your program loses one player to the Academy system this season. How will it impact your team and in general, how will it show itself in the play of area high school soccer this season?  Players are lost to teams at every level, as a coaching staff and team you cannot be concerned about what has happened; but instead should stay focused on the present and work toward helping the team improve.  It may have more of an impact at some of the larger boys' schools.

 

2012 Whitfield Warriors Soccer Schedule (courtesy Whitfield.org)

Tue, 08/28/12 6:00PM     @ St. Dominic
vs. St. Dominic
  more info Wed, 09/05/12 4:30PM     @ Whitfield
vs. John Burroughs
  more info Fri, 09/07/12 5:00PM     @ Whitfield
vs. Cape - Notre Dame
  more info Sat, 09/08/12 3:30PM     @ St. Marys'
vs. St. Marys'
  more info Tue, 09/11/12 4:30PM     @ Whitfield
vs. Westminster
  more info Fri, 09/14/12 5:00PM     @ Whitfield
vs. Southern Boone
  more info Sat, 09/15/12 1:00PM     @ Whitfield
vs. Barstow
  more info Wed, 09/19/12 4:30PM     @ Whitfield
vs. Edwardsville
  more info Fri, 09/21/12 6:30PM     @ Affton
vs. Affton
  more info Mon, 09/24/12 4:30PM     @ St. Pius
vs. St. Pius
  more info Fri, 09/28/12 4:30PM     @ Whitfield
vs. Pattonville
  more info Sat, 09/29/12 5:00PM     @ Webster Groves
vs. Webster Groves
  more info Tue, 10/02/12 3:30PM     @ Whitfield
vs. St. Marys'
  more info Thu, 10/04/12 4:30PM     @ Whitfield
vs. Duchesne
  more info Sat, 10/06/12 1:00PM     @ Whitfield
vs. Priory
  more info Wed, 10/10/12 4:30PM     @ Lutheran South
vs. Lutheran South
  more info Fri, 10/12/12 6:30PM     @ Belleville West
vs. Belleville West
  more info Tue, 10/16/12 4:15PM     @ Principia
vs. Principia
  more info Thu, 10/18/12 4:15PM     @ Whitfield
vs. Bayless
  more info Sat, 10/20/12 1:30PM     @ Trinity
vs. Trinity
  more info Mon, 10/22/12 4:15PM     @ Whitfield
vs. Clayton
  more info Wed, 10/24/12 7:00PM     @ Rock Bridge
vs. Rock Bridge
  more info


Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »